Tanzania is truly a touristy destination, endowed with vast and beautiful national parks, game reserves, beaches, mountains and diverse cultural ethnic groups. According to Tanzania National parks (TANAPA) approximately one quarter of its surface has been set aside for conservation purposes.

Tanzania’s tourism sector has recently received another boost when the country won three of the seven natural wonders of Africa, which are The Serengeti National Park, the Ngorongoro Conservation Area (NCA) and Mount Kilimanjaro, respectively.

Mount Kilimanjaro has seven distinctive peaks with Uhuru Peak accounting for the mountains highest elevation at 19,341 feet (5,895 m). A 1.5 mile wide crater is featured as part of the Kibo portion of the mountain.      

The high elevation and proximity to the equator allows visitors to experience a variety of climate types. Kilimanjaro also features a year round snow-topped peak. Although the volcano is isolated, it is part of the line of volcanoes that reach across northern Tanzania.

The Serengeti National Park is Tanzania’s oldest and the most popular national park. The National park is famed for its migration and the presence of the so called “The Big Five” which is a group of wild mammals includes Lions, Leopard, Elephant Black Rhinoceros and African Buffalo.     

The Serengeti migration is the longest and largest over land migration in the world. The Serengeti plains account for over 18,641 square miles and the migration itself travels 500 miles on the path from Tanzania to the Masai Mara Reserve in Kenya. Approximately 80% of the Seregeti plains are protected by the Tanzanian and Kenyan governments. 

Travel Information

  • About Tanzania
  • Visa and Permits
  • Health Information
  • Travel insurance
  • Flights Information

Facebook & Twitter


Go to top